Book Review · Science Fiction/ Dystopia · YA Fiction

Cinder by Marissa Meyer: Book Review

cinder

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless Lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . .

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.


When I first started this I actually was expecting some badly written robot romance story. God, was I wrong. I literally read all 387 pages of this book in one sitting. One.

This book hooks you in from the start. Cinder is a cyborg girl. She lost both her parents in a car crash, herself being the only survivor. In fact, she only survived because she had surgery, transforming her into a cyborg and saving her life. Cinder quickly gets whisked into the life of the Plague that riddles their country and Prince Kai that riddles her heart- and many, many secrets. Not to mention an evil queen who lives on the moon that wants to take over the Earth (cliche you might think, but no. This is so much more than a conventional good guy/ bad guy novel). In her adventure she discovers shocking truths about herself; so shocking you might want to put the book down and take a few minutes to breathe. I did.

The romance in this book is very refreshing. Romances nowadays in the YA genre are boring and predictable. In Cinder this romance is necessary for the book’s plot to go smoothly. I guess there’s no such thing as a boring and predictable love story when cyborgs are involved!

One aspect of the book I very much enjoyed is that it’s Meyer’s twist on the fairy tale, “Cinderella” (for those who didn’t get that from the name and the book cover). There are so many parallels in this story you just can’t keep from having flashbacks to when you were a kid, to the times when your mother used to read to you before you fell asleep. It’s just amazing, I can’t say anything about it.

As soon as I finishes Cinder, I craved to get my hands on its sequel, Scarlet as soon as I possibly could. Really, in all honesty, this was one of the best books I have read in a very long time.

5/5


 

3 thoughts on “Cinder by Marissa Meyer: Book Review

  1. I have seen this book at the library before but honestly it didn’t seem like my thing, but after this review, it has really changed my opinion and I look forward to reading it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

