Book Review · Paranormal · YA Fiction

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin: Book Review

tumblr_nkggevwKSb1tv8vcro1_1280

Mara Dyer believes life can’t get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her strangely unharmed.
There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.
She’s wrong


Honestly the summary for the book is shit. It does not do justice to the book at ALL.

Okay so this book is a mystery/supernatural/thriller/romance. Mara Dyer is a 16 year old girl. She has gotten in a horrific accident killing her friends, with her as the only survivor.  Mara suffers from PTSD and is plagued with hallucinations. Her family moves to an elite part of Florida, with Mara going to a posh private school. There she finds Noah Shaw, shrouding himself with mystery and she quickly feels herself attracted to him.

With a huge spin of events, Mara realizes that she has powers to manipulate things the ways she imagines them- causing deaths, to be more specific. One of the Mara’s friends that was in the accident was Jude, Mara’s boyfriend. He attempted to rape her at the scene of the accident and she wished him dead- and it happened. In another part, Mara was angry at her Spanish teacher for unfairly giving her a bad grade, and imagines her death. Shortly after her Spanish teacher is, in fact, found dead. Oh, Noah has special abilities as well. He has the power to heal things. I guess opposites do attract, huh?

This book has so many plots and twists that I really cannot explain it all. It doesn’t matter if you aren’t a fan of supernatural- I’m not- this book is a definitive pick up. Really, I’m not just saying this to evade a long blog post, it’s the truth.

“Fix me,” I commanded him. “This thing, what I’ve done – there’s something wrong with me, Noah. Fix it.”
Noah’s expression broke my heart as he brushed my hair from my face, and skimmed the line of my neck. “I can’t”
“Why not?” I asked, my voice threatening to crack.
“Because,” he said, “You’re not broken.”

4/5


 

4 thoughts on “The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin: Book Review

Leave a Reply

