Book Review · Science Fiction/ Dystopia · YA Fiction

Revolution 19 by Gregg Rosenblum: Book Review

15765688Twenty years ago, the robots designed to fight our wars abandoned the battlefields. Then they turned their weapons on us.

Only a few escaped the robot revolution of 2071. Kevin, Nick, and Cass are lucky —they live with their parents in a secret human community in the woods. Then their village is detected and wiped out. Hopeful that other survivors have been captured by bots, the teens risk everything to save the only people they have left in the world—by infiltrating a city controlled by their greatest enemies.

Revolution 19 is a cinematic thriller unlike anything else. With a dynamic cast of characters, this surefire blockbuster has everything teen readers want—action, drama, mystery, and romance. Written by debut novelist Gregg Rosenblum, this gripping story shouldn’t be missed.


When I read books that I end up really liking, I always end up with a sort of emotional connection with the characters and the writing. When I was halfway into this and I didn’t feel any of it, I knew that this wasn’t gonna be one of my favorites.

Don’t get me wrong, it was a good book. Robots we have built to help us in war turn against us, enslaving the human population. There are surviving humans who live in small communities, called “freeposts.” Nick, Cass, and Kevin are part of that. When tech-geek Kevin finds a piece of tech and brings it to his home with him, not knowing it’s a tracker, the freepost is invaded. Thus is Revolution 19- the 19th freepost the robots have invaded. Many are killed, and some are captured as well. The captured are taken into a city where they are to be “re-educated” and placed into the city as proper citizens. The kids’ parents are captured, and the book revolves around them living in the city undetected all while trying to find their parents.

Ironically, my favorite part of the book was the epilogue. It’s only about 2 pages, but it had huge amounts of mystery and creepiness surrounding it. If the book wasn’t your thing, or you found yourself not committing your mind to the series, the epilogue will make you change your mind, trust me.

See, it’s a great premise for a book. Realistic. You can actually see these events as something very real. I don’t know why it didn’t appeal to me though. I don’t have much to say about it either, since the book is pretty cut and simple. I don’t think that I’ll be reading the sequel, though. Call me stubborn.

2.5/5


Last review:  Salvage by Alexandra Duncan

Next book: Hopeless, by Colleen Hoover.

That’s it for now, until next time!! ✨

2 thoughts on “Revolution 19 by Gregg Rosenblum: Book Review

Leave a Reply

