Book Review · Contemporary · YA Fiction

Hopeless by Colleen Hoover: Book Review

cvr9781476743554_9781476743554_hrSometimes discovering the truth can leave you more hopeless than believing the lies…

That’s what seventeen-year-old Sky realizes after she meets Dean Holder. A guy with a reputation that rivals her own and an uncanny ability to invoke feelings in her she’s never had before. He terrifies her and captivates her all in the span of just one encounter, and something about the way he makes her feel sparks buried memories from a past that she wishes could just stay buried.

Sky struggles to keep him at a distance knowing he’s nothing but trouble, but Holder insists on learning everything about her. After finally caving to his unwavering pursuit, Sky soon finds that Holder isn’t at all who he’s been claiming to be. When the secrets he’s been keeping are finally revealed, every single facet of Sky’s life will change forever.


Well, isn’t this a change. This should be a milestone or something: First Romance Novel Asma Has Reviewed, or First Non-Sci-Fi Book Reviewed By Asma, or something. Anyhow, I think this book was recommended to me by an EpicReads quiz. I don’t know why I decided to read it, since vague romance-y novels aren’t my forte, but I’m glad I did.

Everyone has had their fair share of cheesy, fake romance. Be it a movie, TV show, hell even a fanfiction. But we’ve all seen it. Same, vague description about two people colliding, blah blah blah. But holy shit, this was anything but. The book starts on October 28th. It starts with Sky having a full on mental breakdown; throwing and breaking things. Holden- *insert sound of endearment here*- holds her back from hurting herself more. Then, it goes from October to August- two months earlier- and you know that it’s gonna take you through what the hell happened to Sky to get her to the point she is now. I was already hooked with the first two paragraphs of the first chapter. You know when you read something and you just go, Wow, that was so smart oh my God??? I’m probably gonna have these lines stuck in my head for a while:

“I’d like to think most of the decisions I’ve made throughout my seventeen years have been smart ones. Hopefully intelligence is measured by weight, and the few dumb decisions I’ve made will be outweighed by the intelligent ones. If that’s the case, I’ll need to make a shitload of smart decisions tomorrow because sneaking Grayson into my bedroom window for the third time this month weighs pretty heavily on the dumb side of the scale. However, the only accurate measure of a decision’s level of stupidity is time. . . so I guess I’ll wait and see if I get caught before I break out the gavel.

Despite what this may look like, I am not a slut. Unless, of course, the definition of slut is based on the fact that I make out with lots of people, regardless my lack of attraction to them. In that case, one might have grounds for debate.”

Literally, that has to be one best written introductions to a story. And from that point, I knew this wasn’t gonna be some stupid cliche thing. This is hands down, 100%, the realest book I have ever read.

So, Sky was adopted when she was 5 years old, by a woman named Karen. Sky’s mother died, and her father gave her up for adoption. Karen has been an amazing mother to Sky, the nicest woman and friend she could have. She’s a bit eccentric though, with her vegan lifestyle, anti-electronics, pro-homeschooling stance. Sky’s next door neighbor, and her best and only friend, Six- yes, her name really is Six- convinces Sky to talk Karen into allowing her to enroll in public high school with her during their senior year. Karen finally gives in, but right when Sky is enrolled, Six is accepted into an overseas exchange program. Oops. Anyway, Six and Sky have been sneaking boys in and out of their rooms since they were 16. The thing is, Sky doesn’t feel anything when she’s with these boys. She only lets them touch and kiss her because she likes the feeling of numbness. Kind of sad, actually (Actually, really fucking sad, once you find out why she feels like this).

But, despite everything that I’ve said, the romance isn’t what made the story good. With Holden’s help, Sky unravels layers upon layers of secrets that bury her. She finds out things about herself that no person should ever have to. It’s the most painful, raw, and real journey that I have ever read. I commend Colleen Hoover for putting an immense amount of feeling and thought and everything else in between in this novel. And just in case this sounds cliche, trust me, take my word for it, it’s fucking not. Of all the things I was expecting, it definitely not what I just read. Just, incredible.

And with that, here’s my favorite quote from the novel:

“One of the things I love about books is being able to define and condense certain portions of a character’s life into chapters. It’s intriguing, because you can’t do this with real life. You can’t just end a chapter, then skip the things you don’t want to live through, only to open it up to a chapter that better suits your mood. Life can’t be divided into chapters. . . only minutes. The events in your life are all crammed together one minute right after the other without any time lapses or blank pages or chapter breaks because no matter what happens life just keeps going on and moving forward and words keep flowing and truths keep spewing whether you like it or not and life never lets you pause and just catch your fucking breath”.

Guys. Go read this. Like yesterday.

5/5


Last review:  Revolution 19 by Gregg Rosenblum

 

Next book: These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Megan Spooner

Until next time!

2 thoughts on “Hopeless by Colleen Hoover: Book Review

Leave a Reply

