Book Review · Contemporary · YA Fiction

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han: Book Review

15749186To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all.


And with this book begins my 2016 TBR. Also, I just wanna say that I called who sent Lara Jean’s letter as soon as they got sent out. For the record.

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the first book in a duology (The second book is called P.S. I Still Love You). I love love Jenny Han’s writing. It’s so unique and sounds just like you. Lara Jean is so relatable and the way Jenny wrote her character out for readers is perfect.

Lara Jean is the middle child in a family of two sisters and her father. Her mother died when she was younger, and that’s how their family became close. The family dynamic in To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is extremely adorable. Kitty, the youngest sister, is one of my favorite YA characters now- her sarcasm and wit will make you want her as your sister.

I loved how awkward Lara Jean was when she’s confronted with the letters that she sent. You’ll actually feel second hand embarrassment. My favorite lines from the book are probably: “I am a girl with a plan. I’m just going to have to avoid Josh forever. It’s as simple as that.” Her quirk and hilarity are my favorite.

An old friend in their middle school friend group, Peter Kavinsky, gets a letter from Lara Jean. They work out a deal between them that aroused because of the letter in an attempt to get what they both want. And the story revolves around this- spoilery- deal that they made.

It’s really tricky to review contemporary as opposed to dystopia or fantasy without giving away spoilers, since describing the plot of it will give away too much. So:

START OF SPOILERS

Do you know how shady it sounded when Peter wanted to fake date Lara Jean?? Anyone who’s read their fair share of fanfiction already knows what’s gonna go down.

And I really, really, really hate Genevieve for spreading the rumor that Lara Jean and Peter had sex in the hot tub. I don’t think I’ve hated a YA book character as much as her. Reading about her is like being poked in the side over and over again until you eventually go insane.

PLUS Peter is so shady??? I don’t like him or trust him at all. Lara Jean is too nice for that, don’t you think?

END OF SPOILERS

Last thing: Representation! I loved how Lara Jean is half Korean. It makes me so happy to see more and more representation in YA!

4/5


Last Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Next Review: Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella. I’ve been dying to get my hands on this book!

Until next time!

8 thoughts on “To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han: Book Review

  1. I’m currently reading this now (skipped over the spoilers,lol)! What drew me to it was the fact that the main character was half-Korean because I’ve rarely read books with main characters that aren’t white, which is a shame. :/

    1. Another book with a diverse main character is Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon! She’s half African American and half Chinese. The author herself is African American with a Chinese husband, if I’m not mistaken. I’ve done a review of it if you’re interested!!

  2. I’ve been reading so many reviews about this book. I’m starting to wonder if I should go out and buy it already. Lovely review! I’m glad you liked it. (Especially with that stunning cover.)

    1. The cover is gorgeous! It’s a really relatable read, I love Lara Jean so much! I thought it was refreshing and unique, I really recommend it. Plus, it’s a short read! 🙂

Leave a Reply

