Lists

Wicked Book Tag!

wicked-the-witches-of-oz-poster2

I recently got into Wicked and man, have I been missing out! The songs are catchy, the characters are fun and the story is an unforgettable journey. For those of you who don’t know, Wicked is a musical that tells the origin story of the Wicked Witch of the West and Glinda the Good Witch. While listening to the musical, I wondered if there was a book tag dedicated to Wicked. Finding none, I decided to create my own using seven tracks from the musical!


Dear Old Shiz: A book featuring a school setting. 

Other than Harry Potter– the most obvious pick for this song- I’m going to have to go with Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. Anna was one of the first books that introduced me to the genre of YA contemporary and I was not disappointed! I loved the overseas setting; living with Anna at boarding school was a refreshing change in pace.

Something Bad: A book in where the foreshadowing clued you in on later events early on in the story. 

I’m going to have to go with Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. No spoilers, but I totally called it. You guys know.

Popular: A popular book whose hype you didn’t understand but enjoyed nonetheless. 

Don’t get me wrong- The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins isn’t a bad book. It’s just that, in my opinion, there are an abundance of science fiction/dystopian series that are much better than The Hunger Games. The only way I can reason its excessive popularity is because it was one of the first young adult dystopian novel to be turned into a movie.

One Short Day: A short novel that packed a spectacular punch. 

(Sidenote: This song has been on repeat for the better part of two days.) For this song, I’m going to have to go with What We Saw by Aaron Hartzler. It’s only 336 pages, but contains rich content- speaking on topics of rape, consent and subtle hints of feminism throughout; an important book if I’ve ever read one.

Defying Gravity: A book that exceeded your initial expectations- whether good or bad. 

When I first heard of Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins I never thought it was something for me. It’s Goodreads summary was trope-ish, and the entire “Southern belle” feel didn’t vibe well with me. But when I read it, I was blown away. It was hilarious, it was fun, and definitely taught me to give every book a chance.

Wonderful: A book that you thought you would enjoy but didn’t. 

This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp is a YA fiction novel that recounts fifty-four minutes of a school shooting and hostage situation. I was excited to read a book in where the premise was sadly all too familiar but was ultimately let down with its execution. Although it’s a book that made me think, it didn’t quite resonate in me as much as I thought it would.  Despite my disappointment, I would still recommend it.

Finale: Your  favorite conclusion to a series. 

Winter by Marissa Meyer, obviously! No book series has satisfied me as thoroughly as The Lunar Chronicles have. Winter was a rather large book- a whopping 832 pages- but aren’t finales always better when longer?


And that concludes my Wicked book tag! Sadly, I don’t know many people that have listened to Wicked here on WordPress other than Sayyeda over at Literary Hues (Her blog is GORGEOUS by the way), so I’m tagging her! To all other Wicked fans, feel free to participate as well! Make sure to tag me- I’d love to read your responses!

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

